Faith Seeking Understanding

Click here to find my other writings.

Jon Carl Lewis. Photo by Cie Stroud. May 2016.
Jon Carl Lewis. Photo by Cie Stroud. May 2016.

The Faith Seeking Understanding Project, my personal journey towards a deeper knowledge of and intimacy with God, the cosmos, humanity and myself through thoughts, words and (occasionally) images, is a series of [hopefully] daily reflections I’m writing (beginning 06 Dec 2018) with the purpose of publishing something on a regular basis for others to read, either here, at joncarllewis.com or among my writings at Medium.com. Below is a list of articles I have written in the series so far.

An Introduction

Faith seeking understanding: a personal journey in thoughts, words and (occasionally) images. An introduction to my series of essays intended for publication on this website and at Medium.com. Published Thu, 06 Dec 2018.

The Articles

This list is presented in reverse chronological order. I suspect the later the date, the better the writing and the more coherent the arguments will be. But you never know!

Faith seeking understanding #057: Which Christianity are you talking about? Published Fri, 01 Feb 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #056: On needing a good kick in the butt. Published Thu, 31 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #055: In Praise of Wasting Time (a review). Published Wed, 30 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #054: Riding the flow. Published Tue, 29 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #053: On productivity and balance. Published Mon, 28 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #052: Into a little silence. Published Sun, 27 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #051: How I got into a flow today. Published Sat, 26 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #050: Finding time to read. Published Fri, 25 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #049: The danger of words and the usefulness of parable. Published Thu, 24 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #048: On finding words in the midst of a paradox. Published Wed, 23 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #047: On two types of creative vision. Published Tue, 22 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #046: Following Ariadne’s thread. A poetic meandering on following and being followed by other writers. Published Mon, 21 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #045: On respectfully breaking the sabbath. On writing every day whether or not someone says I should. Published Sun, 20 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #044: On fig leaves, masks and shame. A brief meditation on what to conceal and what to reveal. Metaphorically speaking, of course. Published Sat, 19 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #043: Bringing discipline to my literary consumption (or, on ceasing to be an intellectual glutton). A resolution to slow down and digest my literary food so I can reflect more coherently on it later. Published Fri, 18 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #042: On practicing the discipline of reticence. A reflection on not being able to publish until the time is right to share certain truths. Published Thu, 17 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #041: On knowing where to look. A reflection on where to search for inspiration. Published Wed, 16 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #040: On capitalizing on my writing success (such that it is…). Published Tue, 15 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #039: The American Empire and the Kingdom of God. Published Mon, 14 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #038: Perchance to dream…? Published Sun, 13 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #037: On not breaking the chain. Published Sat, 12 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #036: On writing while sick. Published Fri, 11 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #035: Prayers of thanksgiving, prayers for the hope of the world. Published Thu, 10 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #034: On whether faith has led to understanding… so far. Published Wed, 09 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #033: On approaching the blank page with fear and trembling. Published Tue, 08 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #032: The wisdom of the mandala. Published Mon, 07 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #031: On just being glad to show up. Published Sun, 06 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #030: Wrestling with the Bible. Published Sat, 05 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #029: Pondering the limitations of thinking in terms of identity. Published Fri, 04 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #028: Facing race from my peculiar social location. Published Thu, 03 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #027: Lessons learned on Medium.com. Published Wed, 02 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #026: Seeking a contemplative, countercultural new year. Some whining about wanting to be alone and silent on New Year’s Eve. Published Tue, 01 Jan 2019.

Faith seeking understanding #025: A resolution to talk about race. On resolving to talk about race in the new year. Published Mon, 31 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #024: Honestly, on having not much to say. That pretty much sums it up. Published Sun, 30 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #023: Tradition or the Spirit as our source of truth? A reflection on Jesus’ teaching about the Spirit and his rejection by the Pharisees. Published Sat, 29 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #022: On lessons learned from a reading binge. Reflections on being encouraged by reading to write. Published Fri, 28 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #021: On falling in love in community. Reflections on Jesus’ new commandment: that we love one another. Published Thu, 27 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #020: A return to illustration and graphic design. Reflections on the rebirth of my visually creative side. Published Wed, 26 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #019: Merry Christmas! A very brief, Christmas greeting. Published Tue, 25 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #018: Standing in awe of Mary. A reflection on the radical nature of the Song of Mary and its implications for my life. Published Mon, 24 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #017: Lessons from the cats. On what my cats may be trying to teach me about presence and impermanence. Published Sun, 23 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #016: On choosing to enjoy the journey. On how writing is a pleasure for me I refrain from to my own detriment. Published Sat, 22 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #015: Learning from mindfulness and compassion. Some lessons I’m learning about mindfulness and compassion. Published Fri, 21 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #014: The truth, the whole truth…. A reflection on being brutally honest and telling my own truth. Published Thu, 20 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #013: Beyond the minimum viable product. A reflection on what I hope to accomplish with each days writing. Published Wed, 19 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #012: Digesting my spiritual food. A reflection on the time it takes to assimilate a number of spiritual lessons. Published Tue, 18 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #011: Finding my faith through spiritual practice. A reflection on my journey from faith to spiritual crisis and back to a faith transformed. Published Mon, 17 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #010: Social fatigue, or Too burnt out to write. A very few thoughts on the tension between time in solitude and time in society I face as a writer. Published Sun, 16 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #009: Exploring my hunger for male friendship, part 1. The beginning of a reflection on my hunger for male friendship… and my history of loneliness. Published Sat, 15 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #008: On challenging the resistance to write. A cheeky reflection on beating resistance by writing about resistance. Published Fri, 14 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #007: On just showing up, on making an attempt. A few words about simply showing up. Published Thu, 13 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #006: A call to compassion through mindfulness. A call to compassion from the scriptural account of Jesus and the woman taken in adultery. Published Wed, 12 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #005: Trusting the writing to bring me closer to truth. Reflecting on how the practice of writing might bring me closer to understanding and truth. Published Tue, 11 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #004: On writing while scarred rather than with an open wound. Reflecting on when it is appropriate to share with the public an emotional wound. Published Mon, 10 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #003: A little sabbath. A really, really short reflection on taking a mini break. Published Sun, 09 Dec 2018.

Faith seeking understanding #002: A Manifesto (if I had one): God loves all of you. And God loves all of you. Reflecting on my conviction that God loves each of us and loves all parts of each of us. Published Sat, 08 Dec 2018.

Faith Seeking Understanding #001: Singing praise to the Lord. Reflecting on my love of Contemporary Christian music, my earlier aspirations to perform, and my current service through music. Published Fri, 07 Dec 2018.

Thank you for your time and attention. Unless otherwise noted the contents of this website are © 2018 Jon Carl Lewis. You can get in touch with me at joncarllewis@gmail.com. May God richly bless you on your journey.